To become a notary public in the State of Texas, an individual must be a Texas resident; at least 18 years of age; who has not been convicted for a crime involving “moral turpitude or a felony.” Upon qualification, a notary public is mailed a four-year commission. Questions/Comments may be submitted by contacting their Notary Public Unit.
If an individual meets the eligibility requirements, the following must be submitted to the Secretary of State:
- a completed Form 2301 (available from the secretary of state, county clerk, or your insurance agency or surety company);
- Proof of a $10,000 surety bond*; and
- a filing fee of $21.
*NationwideNotaryBond provides a $10,000 4-year Texas Notary Public Bond for only $50.00. You can add $10,000 4-year Notary Errors & Omissions coverage for just $40.00 more. They process, execute and deliver notary bonds the same business day your order is received assuring timely approval of your Texas notary commission.
Once you are commissioned, you may then purchase your required notary seal and record book from any office supply company. Your notary seal must clearly show the words “Notary Public, State of Texas” around a star of five points, your name, and the date your commission expires, whenever it is embossed, stamped, or printed on a document. As a notary, you must authenticate all official acts with the seal of office. A Texas notary public is also required to maintain a record book. This record book must be maintained whether or not any fees are charged for your notary public service.
Read More »