Become a Notary in Arkansas



Arkansas notary publicTo become a notary public in Arkansas, an individual must:

  • Be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien;
  • Be a legal resident of Arkansas or of an adjoining state and employed in Arkansas;
  • Be 18 years of age or older;
  • Be able to read and write English; and
  • Not have had their commission as a notary revoked during the last ten (10) years

Application Process

All Arkansas notary public applicants must list his/her name exactly as the signature will appear on each document notarized. This must be identical to the notary seal and surety bond. A $7,500 notary bond must accompany the Arkansas notary application.

*NationwideNotaryBond provides a $7,500 10-year Arkansas Notary Public Bond including $5,000 10-year FREE Notary Errors & Omissions coverage for only $65.00. They process, execute and deliver notary bonds the same business day your order is received assuring timely approval of your Arkansas notary commission.

Applicants have 30 days from the date of their commission to file with the Secretary of State and the Circuit Clerk in the county of their residence. A notary’s commission date will be located in the body of the notary’s bond.

Arkansas law now requires that notary stamps and embossed seals include the notary’s commission number which is issued by the Arkansas Secretary of State. The number will be issued with the certificate/oath.

The Notary Application, $7,500 Notary Bond, and $20 filing fee should be submitted to the Secretary of State
Business and Commercial Services at this address:

(Mailing Address)

Secretary of State Business and Commercial Services
State Capitol, Room 256
Little Rock, AR 72201-1094
Toll Free: (888) 233-0325
Phone: 501-682-3409

(Physical Address)

Secretary of State Business and Commercial Services
Suite 250, Victory Building
1401 West Capitol
Little Rock, AR 72201


Items for Page: There are no posts that match the selection criteria.